> Tribunals Ontario | Practice Advisory Committee - LTB

Terms of Reference for the
Landlord and Tenant Board
Practice Advisory Committee

  1. The Landlord and Tenant Board (the "LTB") has established an LTB Practice Advisory Committee (the "Committee") whose mandate is to function as a resource to the LTB for consultation and feedback regarding:

    The Committee's focus is on the effectiveness of the above in carrying out the LTB's mandate to provide fair, just, accessible, cost-effective and expeditious processes for the resolution (by way of public information, early resolution or adjudication) of proceedings before it.

  2. The Committee is not intended to be a forum for the discussion of:

    1. the merits or processing of individual cases;
    2. substantive issues of law;
    3. proposed or possible legislative amendments, white papers or regulations;
    4. the conduct of individual appointees or staff.
  3. The Committee will have two (2) co-chairs, one representing the perspective of landlords and one representing the perspective of tenants. The co-chairs will be selected by the SJTO Executive Chair and the LTB Associate Chair and will serve a three (3) year term and may be invited to serve a second three (3) year term.

  4. The Committee shall be composed of the following members:

    1. the co-chairs;
    2. the LTB Associate Chair and one person from the LTB designated by the Associate Chair;
    3. six persons who regularly appear or represent parties before the LTB with three taken from those who regularly appear or represent landlords and three taken from those who regularly appear or represent tenants. The choice of these representatives should take into consideration the need to respect the diversity of clients using the LTB resolution services. The choice will also reflect, where possible, the regional diversity of the Board's operation.
    4. a representative from the Advocacy Centre for Tenants Ontario;
    5. a representative from the Federation of Rental-Housing Providers of Ontario;
    6. a representative from the Ontario Non-Profit Housing Association;
    7. a representative from the Cooperative Housing Federation - Ontario Division
  5. Committee members referred to in clause 4.c. will serve a two (2) year term with the proviso that the timing of initial terms will be staggered in order to ensure continuity. Members may be invited to serve a second two (2) year term. Members who are representative of landlords and tenants will be selected by the co-chairs through an invitation to express an interest in serving on the Committee, posted on the SJTO website.

  6. The Committee shall meet at least three (3) times per year, in-person where possible. The Committee co-chairs will take an active role in determining the agenda items to bring forward for discussion.

  7. In order that the Committee may function in a collaborative atmosphere that encourages candour, members of the Committee will maintain reasonable discretion and confidentiality with respect to Committee discussions.

  8. Committee representatives designated by the co-chairs may participate in any Tribunal consultation with users of the LTBs services to further the Committee's effectiveness as a resource to the LTB.

November 15, 2016